Memphis DUI Attorneys
Memphis DUI Attorneys
DUI (or Driving Under the Influence Charges) can sometimes deal a frightening blow to a person charged with such an offense. Many individuals charged with DUI have never been charged previously with a crime making this very unfamiliar territory to navigate for them and their families. Our Memphis Criminal DUI Attorneys have hand handled numerous DUI cases and are familiar with the laws that apply to these cases. Most DUI first offenses in Tennessee carry a minimum of 48 hours incarceration, plus mandatory fines and other driving requirements such as a restricted driving license if convicted of this offense. If there is an accident involved, or if the level of alcohol content in the defendant's blood is a certain level (for example over .20), the offense potentially carries a higher level of punishment and incarceration. In addition, if the offense is a second offense or more, the punishment can increase from 45 days to even one year or more, depending on the nature of the conviction and the age of the prior DUI as well as several other factors.
It is important to contact your attorney promptly so that you can obtain level advice and avoid developing additional anxiety from not knowing your rights or having a plan to approach the DUI case. Every defense and every client's situation is unique which is why it is important to promptly exercise your rights to counsel and retain an attorney to defend your case. Please contact us for consultation if you require a Memphis DUI attorney in Shelby County, Fayette County, Hardeman County, Tipton County, or Lauderdale County. We are committed to assisting individuals charged with domestic abuse, stalking, and other crimes against family members, among others. We are committed to delivering the highest quality of service to all clients who seek out our services.
What is the legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) in Tn ?
The legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) in Tennessee is 0.08%.
What are the consequences of refusing a breathalyzer test?
Refusing a breathalyzer test is an offence. Refusing to take the test can lead to severe consequences like imprisonment, fines, and suspension of driving privileges. The law in most states says that if you refuse to take the test, your driver's license is automatically suspended for one year. If you are over 21 years old and refuse the breathalyzer test, then you will lose your driver's license for at least one year.